Chhattisgarh NEET UG 2026 —
Round 2 Application Open, 1,304 Seats Vacant
Round 1 is complete: applications ran 9–16 August, choice filling closed 17 August, and admissions followed. The Office of the Commissioner, Medical Education at Nava Raipur has now issued Order No. 1555, dated 4 September 2026, opening Round 2 online application and institute selection for every seat left vacant after Round 1 — 1,304 seats in total, across MBBS and BDS, government, management and NRI quota. Online application and institute selection: 5–8 September 2026. Choice filling and locking: 5–9 September 2026. Round 1-allotted candidates who opted for upgradation must first log in and give consent before they can select an institute for Round 2.
Last verified · 10 September 2026 · against cgdme.in (Order No. 1555, dated 4 September 2026; Notice No. 1556, dated 7 September 2026, opening the Seat Resign/Withdrawal Portal; and Notice No. 1563, dated 10 September 2026, extending its closing time to 11 September, 2:00 PM)
View Chhattisgarh MBBS Fees →The short version. Round 1 ran its course: application 9–16 August 2026, choice filling to 17 August, and admission followed under Order No. 1368/Chhatra/Counselling/Sanchishi/2026. With Round 1 admission complete, the Commissioner's office issued Order No. 1555/Chhatra/Counselling/Sanchishi/2026, dated 4 September 2026, opening Round 2 for every seat that stayed vacant — 1,304 seats in total (856 MBBS, 448 BDS), spread across 545 government-quota, 589 management-quota, 161 NRI-quota and 9 minority-quota seats at colleges statewide. Fresh online application and institute selection: 5 September 2026, 11:00 hrs to 8 September 2026, 23:59 hrs. Choice filling and locking: 5 September 2026, 11:00 hrs to 9 September 2026, 23:59 hrs. Every previously registered candidate must select an institute again — Round 1 selections do not carry forward — and Round 1-allotted candidates who filled the upgradation option must log in and give consent before choosing. A candidate who was registered only for government colleges and now wants to add private colleges must first pay the registration-fee difference. As always, an allotted seat not joined, or joined and then surrendered, forfeits the registration/security deposit.
Round 2 Counselling,
1,304 Seats Open Statewide
Breaking · Order No. 1555/Chhatra/Counselling/Sanchishi/2026, dated 4 September 2026
Round 1 is complete; Round 2 is open for every seat left vacant. The Office of the Commissioner, Medical Education, Chhattisgarh, has invited fresh online applications from new eligible candidates and institute (re-)selection from already-registered candidates for Round 2 of NEET UG (MBBS & BDS) 2026 counselling, on the vacant seats remaining after Round 1 admission. Online application and institute selection runs 5 September 2026, 11:00 hrs to 8 September 2026, 23:59 hrs, server time. Choice filling and locking runs 5 September 2026, 11:00 hrs to 9 September 2026, 23:59 hrs — the notice's own choice-filling row prints “2025” in the year field, which we read as a clerical slip given the whole notice concerns admission year 2026 and is dated 4 September 2026; confirm the exact year directly on cgdme.in if in doubt. Read RULE-503/30/2025/MED in full before applying, exactly as for Round 1.
Six notes govern who can do what. Round 1-allotted candidates who filled the upgradation option must log in to the portal and give consent before they are allowed to select an institute for Round 2 — without that consent, institute selection is not possible. Every previously registered candidate's earlier institute selection is automatically nulled, so re-selecting an institute is mandatory to stay in Round 2; skip it and no seat can be allotted. A candidate previously registered only for government colleges who now wants a private college must pay the difference between the private-college registration amount and what was already deposited, before that private-college selection is allowed. And exactly as before: if a seat is allotted in Round 2 or any later round and admission is not taken, or is taken and then surrendered, the registration/security deposit is forfeited (per Notice No. 1368, point 5, dated 7 August 2026).
| # | Process | Schedule (server time) |
|---|---|---|
| 1 | Online application & institute selection — opens | 5 September 2026, 11:00 hrs |
| 2 | Online application & institute selection — closes | 8 September 2026, 23:59 hrs |
| 3 | Choice filling & locking — opens | 5 September 2026, 11:00 hrs |
| 4 | Choice filling & locking — closes | 9 September 2026, 23:59 hrs |
1,304 seats vacant, by our own count of the official clear-vacancy list dated 4 September 2026: 856 MBBS and 448 BDS seats, across 545 government-quota, 589 management-quota, 161 NRI-quota and 9 minority-quota seats at colleges statewide. The single largest blocks of vacant MBBS seats sit at Raipur Institute of Medical Sciences (171), Abhishek I Mishra Memorial Medical College & Research, Bhilai (160), Shri Shankaracharya Institute of Medical Science, Bhilai (144), Shri Rawatpura Sarkar Institute, Nava Raipur (104), Maa Padmawati Institute, Raipur (100) and Shri Balaji Institute, Mowa Raipur (96). On the BDS side, Maitri College of Dentistry, Durg (80), Rungta College of Dental Sciences, Bhilai (73), New Horizon Dental College, Bilaspur (69), Triveni Institute of Dental Sciences, Bilaspur (64) and Chhattisgarh Dental College, Rajnandgaon (51, including 9 minority-quota) carry the biggest openings. This list is drawn directly from the official document; check your own eligible category and college of interest on cgdme.in, since a seat being vacant does not mean every category within it is vacant.
On our sourcing. Schedule and process notes are read directly from Order No. 1555, dated 4 September 2026. The 1,304-seat vacancy figure is our own sum of the official NEET UG (MBBS-BDS) Round-2 Clear Vacancy list, also dated 4 September 2026, which itself states a total of 1,304 — our category-by-category addition matches that stated total exactly. Confirm your own eligibility and the current vacancy at your target college on cgdme.in before you select an institute.
Separate from Round 2: a Seat Resign/Withdrawal window has opened for Round 1-admitted candidates, and it has now been extended once. Notice No. 1556/Chhatra/Counselling/Sanchishi/2026, dated 7 September 2026, opened the Seat Resign/Withdrawal Portal for candidates admitted through Round 1 counselling who wish to cancel or withdraw that admission, originally running 7 September 2026, 14:30 hrs (2:30 PM) to 10 September 2026, 12:00 hrs (Noon), server time. Notice No. 1563/Chhatra/Counselling/Sanchishi/2026, dated 10 September 2026, has now extended the closing time to 11 September 2026, 14:00 hrs (2:00 PM), server time — the opening time and everything else about the process is unchanged. A candidate withdrawing must be physically present at the institute where they took admission and complete the cancellation process there by the (now extended) deadline. This is a different step from the upgradation-consent process already covered above: consent is for a Round 1 candidate moving to a better Round 2 seat, while this withdrawal window is for a Round 1 candidate leaving the process altogether. Read Order No. 1555's own forfeiture clause before you use it — withdrawing after taking admission still costs the registration/security deposit.
Eight Days to Apply,
Nine to Lock Your Choices
| Stage | Date & server time |
|---|---|
| Online application opens | 9 August 2026, 11:00 hrs |
| Online application closes | 16 August 2026, 23:59 hrs |
| Choice filling & locking opens | 9 August 2026, 11:00 hrs |
| Choice filling & locking closes | 17 August 2026, 23:59 hrs |
| Round 1 Merit List | Published on cgdme.in — exact date/time not stated in what we could verify |
| Round 1 List of Eligible Candidates — NRI Quota | Published separately on cgdme.in — exact date/time not stated in what we could verify |
| Round 1 seat allotment | Complete — admissions taken; the resulting vacant seats now form the Round 2 clear-vacancy list. Revised procedure notice dated 20 August 2026. |
| Revised allotment & admission process notice | 22 August 2026 — covered allotment, document verification and admission procedure for state-level counselling |
| Round 2 counselling | Open — Order No. 1555, dated 4 September 2026. See the Round 2 section above. |
| Portal | www.cgdme.in |
| Issuing office | Office of the Commissioner, Medical Education, Swasthya Bhawan, 2nd Floor, North Block, Sector-19, Nava Raipur Atal Nagar — 492002 |
Server time, not your time. The notice writes “Server Time” against every deadline. A phone clock that is four minutes fast has cost students their application before. Submit on 15 August, not at 23:50 on 16 August.
Round 1 is complete. Both the Round 1 Merit List and the Round 1 List of Eligible Candidates for NRI Quota went up on cgdme.in, seat allotment followed under the revised 22 August 2026 procedure, and admitted candidates have taken their seats. Those admissions are exactly what produced the 1,304-seat Round 2 clear-vacancy list above — if you were not allotted, or you registered fresh, Round 2 (5–8 September application, 5–9 September choice-locking) is your route in. Call us if you need help reading your Round 1 outcome before you plan Round 2.
Application Fee by Category
— and the Deposit Nobody Reads
| Category | Application fee (non-refundable) |
|---|---|
| Unreserved (UR) and Other Backward Classes (OBC) | ₹1,000 |
| Scheduled Tribe (ST) and Scheduled Caste (SC) | ₹500 |
| Non-Resident Indian (NRI) | ₹10,000 |
The registration amount — the security deposit — is not in the schedule table. The notice points you to a separate table on its own page 2. That is a deliberate structure, not an oversight, and the deposit is the bigger number of the two. Open the full PDF on cgdme.in and read that table before you begin, because the deposit governs what happens if you are allotted a seat and then walk away.
RULE-503/30/2025/MED
Is Not Optional Reading
The notice does something most state notifications do not: it tells you to read the governing rules before starting the online application, and it names the three chapters that matter. Those are the Chhattisgarh Medical, Dental and Physiotherapy (Physiotherapy) Graduate Admission Rules, 2025, cited as RULE-503/30/2025/MED, available on cgdme.in.
| Chapter flagged | Why it decides your outcome |
|---|---|
| Reservation (आरक्षण) | Chhattisgarh runs a 32% Scheduled Tribe reservation, well above most states, plus horizontal categories. Where your rank sits in the state merit list depends on which vertical and horizontal buckets you land in, and the rules define nativity conditions for claiming any of them. |
| Counselling process (काउंसिलिंग प्रक्रिया) | Defines how many rounds run, how upgradation works, and what a resignation or non-reporting costs you in later rounds. |
| Bond (बॉंड) | The compulsory service bond attached to government seats. This is the clause candidates from outside the state most consistently underestimate — the liability survives your MBBS and it is enforceable. |
We do not reproduce the bond amounts here because they sit in the 2025 rules rather than in this notice, and a wrong figure on a bond is worse than no figure. Send us your category and we will read the current clause with you.
Fresh Application Every Round,
and One Box You Must Tick
Two clauses at the end of the notice change how you should plan the next six weeks.
| Clause | What it means in practice |
|---|---|
| Online application and registration available in every phase of counselling, with a fresh merit list published each phase | Chhattisgarh does not run one registration across all rounds. If you skip the first phase, you can still enter later — but you must apply again each time, and the merit list is rebuilt from the current pool rather than carried forward. |
| Only candidates admitted after first-round allotment who filled the upgradation option can be upgraded in the second counselling | Taking admission does not preserve your upgrade rights. Selecting the upgradation option at the time of first-round admission does. Miss that box and your seat is final, whatever your rank would have got you in round two. |
| Previously registered unallotted candidates and newly registered candidates are also eligible for the second counselling, by merit | An unallotted first-round candidate is not shut out. Neither is someone entering fresh in round two. Both compete on the round-two merit list. |
Two Doors Are Open,
and One of Them Costs ₹10,000 to Knock
Chhattisgarh's 85% state quota runs on nativity and domicile conditions set out in the 2025 Admission Rules. Birth in the state and valid domicile status are the core tests. For a candidate from Assam or elsewhere in the Northeast, that quota is effectively shut.
What remains: the 15% All India Quota, which you reach through MCC and not through this notice, and the NRI quota here, which carries a ₹10,000 non-refundable application fee. If you are budgeting, note that the NRI application fee alone is twenty times the SC/ST fee — the state is pricing that route deliberately.
Chhattisgarh's window overlaps with MCC Round 1 choice filling, which was later extended under MCC Notice No. 10 to run until 18 August, and with Bihar UGMAC registration closing 14 August. If you are running parallel applications, see the deadline tracker and the MCC 2026 schedule together before you commit any deposits.
Questions Parents Ask Us
Order No. 1555/Chhatra/Counselling/Sanchishi/2026, dated 4 September 2026, opens Round 2 for 1,304 vacant MBBS/BDS seats: 856 MBBS and 448 BDS, spread across 545 government-quota, 589 management-quota, 161 NRI-quota and 9 minority-quota seats. Fresh online application and institute selection runs 5 to 8 September 2026, and choice filling and locking runs 5 to 9 September 2026, both to server time. Every candidate must apply and select institutes again, whether or not you applied in Round 1 — only candidates who took Round 1 admission and specifically selected the upgradation option carry forward automatically.
The online application opens on 9 August 2026 at 11:00 hrs server time and closes on 16 August 2026 at 23:59 hrs. Choice filling and locking runs on a slightly longer window: 9 August 2026, 11:00 hrs to 17 August 2026, 23:59 hrs. Order No. 1368/Chhatra/Counselling/Sanchishi/2026, dated 7 August 2026, sets both. Everything is timed to server clock, not your phone.
Non-refundable, and it varies by category: ₹1,000 for Unreserved and OBC, ₹500 for SC and ST, and ₹10,000 for the NRI quota. Separately there is a registration or security deposit amount, which the notice places in a table on its second page rather than in the main schedule. Check that table on cgdme.in before you pay anything, because the deposit is the larger number.
The Chhattisgarh Medical, Dental and Physiotherapy Graduate Admission Rules, 2025, cited in the notice as RULE-503/30/2025/MED. The notice asks candidates to read them in full before beginning the online application, and it singles out three areas: reservation, the counselling process, and the bond. Those rules are on cgdme.in. The bond clause in particular is the one candidates from outside Chhattisgarh most often miss.
Yes. The notice states that online application and registration will be available to candidates in every phase of counselling, and that a fresh merit list will be published for each phase. So Chhattisgarh does not run a single registration covering all rounds the way Bihar does. Treat each round as its own application.
Only candidates who were allotted a seat in the first round, took admission, and filled the upgradation option. That last condition is the trap: taking admission is not enough, you have to actively select upgradation at the time. Alongside them, candidates already registered but not allotted, and newly registered candidates, are also eligible for the second counselling, ranked by merit.
The 85% state quota is governed by the nativity and domicile conditions in the 2025 Admission Rules, which are restrictive. The NRI quota, with its ₹10,000 application fee, is open on different terms. For a non-domicile candidate the realistic Chhattisgarh routes are the All India Quota through MCC and the NRI quota here. Read the reservation chapter of RULE-503/30/2025/MED before assuming you qualify for anything else.
Yes, and Round 1 is now fully complete. CG DME published the Round 1 Merit List and, separately, the Round 1 List of Eligible Candidates for NRI Quota on cgdme.in, seat allotment followed under the revised 22 August 2026 procedure notice, and admitted candidates have taken their seats. Those admissions produced the 1,304-seat Round 2 clear-vacancy list now open under Order No. 1555, dated 4 September 2026, with application running 5 to 8 September and choice-locking to 9 September. If you were not allotted in Round 1, or are registering fresh, Round 2 is open to you now.
Chhattisgarh Put the Bond Rules in a Separate Document.
We'll Read Them With You Before You Pay.
Reservation, counselling process and bond all sit in RULE-503/30/2025/MED rather than in the notice you just read. Send us your NEET UG 2026 score, category and domicile position and we'll tell you which Chhattisgarh route is actually open to you.